The Chainsaw Massacre

This is a short story I wrote a while back. Hope you enjoy it.

It was a dark and stormy night. The winds and rains were lashing out at everything that moved. It was cold and bitter and there wasn’t a soul around. I was standing alone, in the middle of nowhere surrounded by a dense forest. I didn’t know how I got there; with absolutely no recollection of the circumstances that led me to this place in the dead of the night. The last thing I remember was going camping with a bunch of my girlfriends to Redwood forest. But was this redwood forest? I tried to see in the dark for any signs of redwood trees that made up most of the jungle but there were none. These trees and shrubs were gigantic, ominous looking. My heart was beating so fast that I thought I might not live to see the light of day.

It was then I heard a shriek. It seemed like coming from a place not too far away. I was petrified. But maybe it was one of my friends, in trouble. I decided to check it out; I trudged along in the rain and wind towards the voice. With no moonlight and dark cloudy skies, I wasn’t able to see a thing.

It must have been 10 minutes into my directionless walking that I thought I saw a flicker of light far ahead. Was that a lantern? Or somebody with a flashlight? I decided to run irrespective of what came in my way, I had to get to that light. I kept running, and I felt eyes staring at me, like they were saying I am running to my death. I stopped and looked around, but saw no one or anything. The light seemed as far away as before. I wasn’t able to comprehend the tricks that the forest was playing. Was this a dream?

 I was lost in my thoughts when suddenly I heard some rustling behind me. I turned around and screamed. The sight I saw was beyond any words that could describe it. It was what looked like a madman, with a lantern in one hand and a big chainsaw covered in blood in the other. His face was covered in lesions and there was pus oozing out of them. His teeth were crooked and he seemed to be sneering. But the most dreadful, were his eyes. There were lifeless; almost stoic. They seemed to say that he didn’t want anybody alive near him.

I ran for my life with the madman behind me with the chainsaw, laughing all along.  I didn’t know for how long I ran when I saw a hut nearby. I ran in, for the door was open. I saw all my friends, dead, cut up in pieces with what seemed like a chainsaw. I looked around and I saw my own body there, realizing only too soon what had happened. And I heard the madman laughing behind me.

This is a tribute to the horror genre which I completely love.

One thought on “The Chainsaw Massacre

Got something to say to this? Write in, lets talk :)

