Guardians of the Galaxy (2014) – Review

gofthegI saw Guardians of the Galaxy for the first time only a few weeks back. I tried watching it once but just wasn’t into it. But after many people told me how great it and considering the sequel is coming out soon, I ventured out and saw it. It is nothing short of an amazing movie. Again, I am amazed to see how these origin films from the Marvel universe seem to come together most of the time.

It has impressive set pieces and enough action to last you a lifetime. But the best part is that it has an emotional core and you actually get to care about each and every single character.

Chris Pratt (Quill) is an unlikely hero, much like Hans Solo – with the right amount of being rogue and having his priorities right. It is in outer space and has alien warlords and monsters and their struggles and wins. I think Vin Diesel as Groot and Bradley Cooper as Rocket are just awesome together. Their chemistry just with their voices shines.

I was reminded of many old movies I loved as a kid – The fifth element, Star Wars and Star Trek. The only part I didn’t care about was the storyline – but I guess end of the galaxy is a common theme across all these movies. The effects are good, background score is fun and costumes look good. Direction overall is great, all the chemistry between the characters comes through well.

Anywhoo, rent/buy watch this if you haven’t, it is a fun ride. You will laugh and two hours will just go by.

3 thoughts on “Guardians of the Galaxy (2014) – Review

  1. Wow…can’t believe the coincidence. I only saw this about 2 weeks ago (in its entirety)…up to then, I had tried twice to watch and never got past the first few minutes. And, just like you, everyone told me how great it is/was. Third time lucky – I “made” myself watch beyond the first few minutes and voila…I thoroughly enjoyed it (to the end). Great review you have here.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey thanks for the comment. I think we went through the same motion. Hated the few minutes I saw the first time but really liked it when I saw it fully. 🙂 Can’t wait for the sequel.

      Like

Got something to say to this? Write in, lets talk :)

